Fifteen high school students, all of which are from either the state of Wyoming or the Upper Peninsula of Michigan, were each recently awarded a STARR Charitable Foundation Scholarship to attend Michigan State University.
The students from Wyoming are: Parker Dodson of Riverton, Wyo.; Bradley Doherty of Casper, Wyo.; Juliette Givhan of Cheyenne, Wyo.; Jake Gray of Casper, Wyo.; Brandon Kortum of Jackson, Wyo.; Katlynn Kretz of Worland, Wyo.; Kayla Starr of Cheyenne, Wyo.; Kennedy Thatch of Lander, Wyo. and Quin Wetzel of Powell, Wyo.
The students from the Upper Peninsula of Michigan are: Anna Backman of Dollar Bay, Mich.; Marissa Jacks of Caspian, Mich.; Casey Pepin of Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.; Maria Sliva of Houghton, Mich.; Lillian Slajus of Iron Mountain, Mich.; and Andrew Sjogren of St. Ignace, Mich.

The STARR Charitable Foundation Scholarship pays all regular costs, including tuition, fees, books, room, board, and incidental expenses as defined by the university, for eight semesters at MSU, beginning with the fall semester each year.

An anonymous private donor established the STARR Charitable Foundation Scholarship to provide a unique education opportunity for multiple students from the State of Wyoming and Michigan’s Upper Peninsula.

“The donors were compelled to share all that they had gained from their time at MSU with students of high character in rural communities whose ability to secure a college education may be limited,” Douglas Estry, Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education, said. “We are grateful for the extraordinary generosity of these donors. Private support such as theirs helps us attract students who might not have originally thought about attending MSU.”

The donors stipulated that STARR scholars must demonstrate academic interest and achievement by attaining a grade point average of 3.0 or higher. Additionally, the scholars must demonstrate distinguished personal character and leadership ability.

Photos from the recent STARR Scholar welcome dinner can be viewed in this photo album. For more information visit the STARR Charitable Foundation Scholarship website.