All requests for consideration of Withdrawal for Medical Reasons must be initiated in the Office of the Associate Dean (or designee) of the student’s college or the Neighborhood Student Success Collaborative (NSSC), who will submit the appropriate request form.

Withdrawal after the middle of the semester will be granted by the Medical Withdrawal Committee only in exceptional circumstances. Exceptional circumstances are generally unforeseen occurrences that significantly limit a student’s ability to withdraw prior to midterm. A withdrawal after the middle of the term of instruction is an extraordinary remedy and is intended to be applied narrowly.

This procedure governs requests for an exception to the normal University withdrawal policy based on exceptional circumstances that are medical in nature. See the list below for additional information on Medical Withdrawal:

Medical Review Committee Meeting Dates

  • September 27, 2017
  • October 25, 2017
  • November 29, 2017
  • December 20, 2017

All requests for consideration of Withdrawal for Medical Reasons must be initiated in the Office of the Associate Dean (or designee) of the student's college or the Neighborhood Student Success Collaborative (NSSC), who will submit the appropriate request form.  Below is a list of the contacts for each of the colleges as well as the NSSC.

Agriculture & Natural Resources
Dorcia Chaison
Justin S. Morrill Hall of Agriculture -- Room 121
517-355-0234
chaison@msu.edu

Arts & Letters
Quinn Moreno
200 Linton Hall
517-355-0366
qmoreno@msu.edu

Communications Arts & Sciences
Kari Schueller-Lopez
Comm Arts & Sciences -- Room 189
517-355-1794
schuell8@msu.edu

Education
Susan Dalebout
Erickson Hall -- Room 134
517-353-5054
sdd@msu.edu

Eli Broad College of Business
Sherri Henry
Eppley Center -- Room 402A
517-355-7605
henrys@broad.msu.edu

Engineering
Amanda Idema
Engineering -- Room 1415
517-355-6616, Ext. 3
agidema@egr.msu.edu

James Madison College
Jeff Judge
South Case Hall -- Room 369
517-353-6754
judgej@msu.edu

Lyman Briggs College
Karen Mills
East Holmes Hall -- Room 35
517-353-6480
tkaczyk@msu.edu

Music
Talitha Wimberly
206 Music Practice Building
517-432-2616
talithat@msu.edu

Natural Science
Heidi Purdy
Natural Science Building -- Room 106
517-355-4470
purdyh@msu.edu

Nursing
Ann Thomas
Life Science -- Room 220-A
517-432-1172
thom1530@msu.edu

Residential College in the Arts and Humanities
Niki Rudolph
Snyder Hall -- Room C-210
517-884-1243
niki@msu.edu

Social Science
Mike Connelly
201 Berkey Hall
517-353-5219
michael.connelly@ssc.msu.edu

NSSC
Jasmine Lee
C101-M McDonel Hall
River Trail Engagement Center
517-884-4080
leejasm@msu.edu 

The signed Patient Authorization for Disclosure of Health Information form and medical treatment records must be received by the University Physician at least two weeks prior to a scheduled committee meeting in order to appear on the agenda.